The CE Library: Flash Gordon


Flash Gordon is the hero of a space opera adventure comic strip created by and originally drawn by Alex Raymond.First published January 7, 1934, the strip was inspired by and created to compete with the already established Buck Rogers adventure strip.

Starting April 22, 1935, the strip was adapted into The Amazing Interplanetary Adventures of Flash Gordon, a 26-episode weekly radio serial. The series followed the strip very closely, amounting to a week-by-week adaptation of the Sunday strip for most of its run.

Flash Gordon was played by Gale Gordon, later famous for his television roles in Our Miss BrooksDennis the MenaceThe Lucy Show and Here’s Lucy (the latter two with Lucille Ball). The cast also included Maurice Franklin as Dr. Zarkov and Bruno Wick as Ming the Merciless.

The radio series broke with the strip continuity in the last two episodes, when Flash, Dale and Zarkov returned to Earth. They make a crash landing in Malaysia, where they meet Jungle Jim, the star of another of Alex Raymond’s comic strips.

The series ended on October 26, 1935 with Flash and Dale’s marriage. The next week, The Adventures of Jungle Jim picked up in that Saturday timeslot.

Two days later, on October 28, The Further Interplanetary Adventures of Flash Gordon debuted as a daily show, running five days a week. This series strayed further from Raymond’s strip, involving Flash, Dale and Zarkov in an adventure in Atlantis. The series aired 74 episodes, ending on February 6, 1936

On the Planet Mongo (April 1935)

Befriends Lion Men and Stops a Wedding (May 1935)

Imprisoned by Hawkmen (May 1935)

Death Battle Won By Flash (May 1935)

Rules Over Cave World (May 1935)

Blue Magic Men Capture Flash (June 1935)

Blue Magic Men Capture Flash (June 1935)

Dr. Zarkov to the Rescue (June 1935)

Aide Tal Plants Seeds of Doubt (June 1935)

Flash Charges Ice Barricade of Hawkmen (June 1935)

Dr. Zarkov is Thawed Out (July 1935)

General Tal Rescued Azura (July 1935)

General Tal Attacks Flash Behind a Huge Door (August 1935)

Dr. Zarkov Builds Invisible Ray Machine (August 1935)

Flash the Avenging Shadow (August 1935)

Azura Regains Memory (August 1935)

Flash Still Invisible Escapes (August 1935)

General Tal Tries Capturing Dr. Zarkov (September 1935)

Pit of Peril and Death Dwarfs (September 1935)

Pit of Fire (September 1935)

The Lost Continent of Atlantis Part 1 

The Lost Continent of Atlantis Part 2

Decoy of Ming the Merciless