The CE Library: Inner Sanctum Mystery


Inner Sanctum Mystery, also known as Inner Sanctum, a popular old-time radio program that aired from January 7, 1941, to October 5, 1952, was created by producer Himan Brown and was based on the imprint given to the mystery novels of Simon & Schuster.

A total of 527 episodes were produced, but a majority are presumed to be lost. Less than 200 are known to exist today. A number of the episodes that exist are edited versions that were rebroadcast on Armed Forces Radio Service (AFRS) as part of Mystery Playhouse hosted by Peter Lorre. These episodes edited out the commercials as well as the original introductions and postscripts by Raymond Johnson. They were replaced with an introduction by Peter Lorre.

Amazing Death of Mrs. Putnam (January 1941)

The Tell-Tale Heart (August 1941)

The Death Ship (August 1941)

Hunter from Beyond (September 1941)

The Man from Yesterday (December 1941)

Dead Reckoning (January 1942)

Study for Murder (May 1942)

Black Sea Gull (March 1943)

The Horla (August 1943)

The Skull that Walked (April 1944)

The Melody of Death (April 1944)

The Silent Hands (May 1944)

Death is a Joker (June 1944)

Dead Man’s Vengeance (October 1944)

The Voice on the Wire (November 1944)

The Color Blind Formula (December 1944)

Desert Death (January 1945)

Death Is an Artist (January 1945)

Death in the Depths (February 1945)

Liked it? Take a second to support Cryptic Escape and help keep us Ad free on Patreon!